Prescreener

Screening · TestGorilla pricing

TestGorilla pricing: TestGorilla cost, plans and credits, and what one assessed candidate really costs

TestGorilla costs $0 on its Free plan, $1,704 a year on Core (shown as $142 a month) and from $4,800 a year on Plus (shown as starting from $400 a month), with Enterprise quoted by sales. Checked on September 10, 2026 on testgorilla.com/pricing. Core and Plus are annual contracts paid up front. TestGorilla's own billing FAQ states there are no monthly payment options.

Parse · score · rank · recruiter reviews

Shortlist Desk
Criteria

top · held

Screen the pile to watch Prescreener parse every resume, apply your criteria and knockouts, and rank the inbound applicants with a transparent reason on each.

Live, interactive · AI assists, you decide · no signup needed

top matches surfaced held for review Reasons on every card

AI assists · you decide · bias-audited (EEOC / NYC Local Law 144)

CONSISTENT CRITERIA RANKED PILE ATS-READY

Human-in-the-loop you decide

EEOC and LL144 bias-audited

The number the pricing page leaves out is the one that decides your real cost. Core includes 250 credits a year. That figure is not on the pricing page at all; it is in TestGorilla's help center. A candidate who starts a skills-test assessment uses 1 credit, adding an AI interview makes it 3, and credits expire at the end of the contract year with no rollover. So Core buys you roughly 250 tested candidates a year, about 21 a month, for $6.82 each.

That is a fair price for what it is, and TestGorilla deserves credit for publishing three real numbers in a category where Harver, HireVue and Criteria publish none. It also has a genuinely free layer: resume scoring, qualifying questions and custom questions cost 0 credits on every plan, including Free.

The practical question for a buyer is volume. If one requisition draws 300 applicants and you test all of them, you have spent more than a full year of Core credits on a single role. The teams that get good value from TestGorilla decide who is worth testing before the credits start moving, and that decision is the part of the funnel this page is really about.

Why it works

What screening before testing gets your hiring team

Monthly billing, no credit pool

Prescreener is billed month to month on published plans. Nothing is prepaid for a year, and there is no credit balance that quietly expires at the end of a contract you signed twelve months ago.

Built for the whole pile

Every plan is sized in applicants screened per month, from 1,000 on Starter to 25,000 on Scale, because the job is reading everyone who applied rather than testing the few you already picked.

Keep TestGorilla if it fits

Skills tests and job simulations are the right tool for some roles. Prescreener reads and ranks the inbound pile first, so the candidates you send to a test are the ones worth a credit.

What it handles

Parsed, scored and ranked on autopilot

Prescreener reads every inbound resume, applies your knockout and eligibility criteria, asks the screening questions you set, scores role-fit against consistent criteria, and ranks the applicant pile so your recruiters review the top matches first.

  • Published monthly pricing with no annual prepayment
  • Reads 100 percent of inbound resumes as they arrive, not only the ones uploaded into a test
  • Applies your knockout and eligibility gates identically to every applicant
  • Returns the pile ranked, with the written reason behind each result
  • Runs alongside TestGorilla or any assessment vendor you keep
  • Never auto-rejects: it ranks and flags, and a recruiter decides
  • Bias-audited to support EEOC standards and NYC Local Law 144
SHORTLIST Screening
#1 Maya R. 92
#2 Devon L. 88
#3 Priya S. 81 Review
Role-fit scored 48 screened this week

Why Prescreener

One step that screens the whole inbound pile

Not a full ATS, not a six-figure assessment suite, and not a staffing agency. Parse, score, rank and hand off in one place, shaped to the criteria you already hire on.

Reads every resume

Prescreener parses every inbound application, applies your knockout and eligibility criteria, and asks the screening questions you set. Applicants consent and are told AI is screening their application, so no qualified person sits in a backlog for days.

Scores role-fit consistently

Every applicant is scored against the same criteria, with a transparent reason on each candidate, so the pile is compared consistently and the scoring stays bias-audited to support EEOC standards and NYC Local Law 144.

Ranks the pile

The strongest matches rise to the top of a ranked pile your recruiters review first. Prescreener never auto-rejects, it ranks and flags candidates for review, and your team makes every decision.

In depth

TestGorilla pricing, line by line

How much does TestGorilla cost?

TestGorilla costs $1,704 a year on Core and at least $4,800 a year on Plus, and the Free plan is $0 with 10 credits a month. Those three figures come straight from testgorilla.com/pricing, read on September 10, 2026, in US dollars. The page also shows GBP, EUR, AUD and INR, so check the currency selector before you copy a number into a budget.

The monthly figures on the cards are presentation, not billing. Core reads $142 per month and Plus reads starts from $400 per month, but both sit directly above the words Annual commitment, and TestGorilla's billing FAQ says plainly that Core and Plus are annual, upfront plans with no monthly payment options. If finance asks what the first invoice will be, the answer on Core is $1,704, not $142.

Enterprise has no figure. It adds scientific validation, security and compliance reviews and tailored agreements on top of Plus, and it is priced through sales like every other enterprise assessment contract.

For comparison with the rest of the market, our ATS and screening pricing comparison puts TestGorilla next to the applicant tracking and screening tools US teams usually shortlist, with the plan that reads resumes marked on each.

Plan Published price How it is billed Credits included Seats
Free $0 No billing, no card needed 10 per month, no rollover, no top-up 1 full access seat
Core $142 per month shown, $1,704 per year Annual, paid up front 250 per year (help center, not on the pricing page) 2 full access seats, unlimited hiring managers
Plus From $400 per month shown, from $4,800 per year Annual, paid up front Customized credit tiers, not published Unlimited full access seats
Enterprise Contact sales Tailored agreement Not published Unlimited

Swipe to see the full comparison →

How do TestGorilla credits work?

A credit is charged once per candidate, at the moment the candidate starts the assessment, and the number of credits depends on which tools the assessment contains. TestGorilla moved to this model in January 2026. Before that, assessing a candidate always used a flat 3 credits, whatever was in the assessment.

Under the current model, resume scoring, qualifying questions and custom questions cost nothing. Skills tests cost 1 credit per candidate in total, whether you include one test or the maximum of five. A video question adds 1 credit, an AI interview adds 2, and ID verification, which is a Plus feature, adds 1. TestGorilla's own maximum is 4 credits for a standard assessment with every Plus tool, or 5 with ID verification. Inviting someone from TestGorilla's sourcing pool of more than 2 million candidates costs 1 credit on top.

Three rules decide how far a credit balance actually goes. Credits are charged when the candidate starts, and TestGorilla states they are not refunded if the candidate drops off halfway, citing completion rates of 85 to 90 percent. Credits are only deducted after a candidate clears any qualifying questions, which is why putting your knockouts in qualifying questions saves real money. And on Core and Plus, every credit, including any you buy mid-year, expires at the end of the current contract period.

What the assessment contains Credits per candidate Available on
Resume scoring, qualifying questions, custom questions only 0 Free, Core, Plus
Up to 5 skills tests 1 in total Free (5 essential tests), Core and Plus (350+ tests)
Video question +1 Free (limited), Core (library only), Plus (fully custom)
AI interview +2 Free (limited), Plus (full customization); Core limited to customized interviews
ID verification +1 Plus only
Invite a candidate from TestGorilla Sourcing +1 Core and Plus

Swipe to see the full comparison →

What does one assessed candidate really cost on TestGorilla?

On Core, one credit costs $6.82, because $1,704 divided by 250 credits is $6.816. Everything else follows from that. A skills-test assessment costs $6.82 per candidate who starts it, adding a video question makes it $13.63, and skills tests plus an AI interview make it $20.45.

Turn that around and the plan size becomes concrete. 250 credits is 250 candidates tested on skills alone in a year, or about 83 if every assessment includes an AI interview. Spread evenly, that is 21 tested candidates a month on the skills-only format. For a small team hiring a handful of roles a year, that is plenty. For a team running a single high-volume requisition, it is not, and the math is worth doing before signing rather than in month four.

Plus is harder to model because TestGorilla does not publish its credit tiers. The $4,800 floor buys a customized allocation set with sales, and the help center says the price per credit falls as you buy more. Ask for the per-credit rate in writing, because it is the only way to compare a Plus quote with Core.

The Free plan is the cheapest way to see the product but not a way to hire at any volume. Ten credits a month is ten skills-tested candidates, and when the balance hits zero TestGorilla says assessments stop accepting new candidates until the 1st of the next month. There is no top-up on Free.

Assessment format Credits Cost per candidate on Core Candidates 250 credits covers
Resume scoring and qualifying questions only 0 $0 Unlimited by credits
Skills tests (1 to 5) 1 $6.82 250 a year
Skills tests plus a video question 2 $13.63 125 a year
Skills tests plus an AI interview 3 $20.45 83 a year
Sourced candidate plus skills tests 2 $13.63 125 a year

Swipe to see the full comparison →

Is TestGorilla free?

Partly. The Free plan is permanent, costs $0, needs no credit card and includes 10 credits a month, one full access seat, five essential skills tests (Big 5, Problem Solving, Communication, Time Management and Motivation), resume scoring, qualifying questions and five preset custom questions. Credits renew on the 1st of each month and do not roll over.

What TestGorilla does not offer is a free trial of the paid plans. Its billing FAQ is direct about it: "We don't offer a free trial. The Free forever plan is not a trial." If you want to see Core or Plus features such as team seats, ATS integrations, sourcing or the full 350-test library, the route is a sales conversation, not a 14-day switch.

TestGorilla also retired its older plans. Starter and Pro stopped being sold in July 2025, pay-as-you-go is no longer offered, and from May 2026 every legacy plan renews onto Core or Plus. Many articles still quote Starter or Pro rates. Those plans cannot be bought today, so any figure attached to them is not a price you can get.

Does TestGorilla integrate with my ATS?

Only on Plus. ATS integrations and API access are listed under Plus on the pricing page, and the comparison table shows no integration on Free or Core. The supported list is long: Workday, SAP SuccessFactors, BambooHR, Breezy, Bullhorn, Greenhouse, iCIMS, JazzHR, Lever, Recruitee, SmartRecruiters, Teamtailor, Workable, Zoho Recruit and Ashby, plus Zapier and Make.

This is the most expensive detail on the page for a team that already runs an applicant tracking system. On Core, candidates reach TestGorilla through invite links and public assessment links rather than through your ATS pipeline, and results do not flow back automatically. If your recruiters live in Greenhouse or Workable, the plan you actually need is Plus, which moves the floor from $1,704 to $4,800 a year.

Single sign-on follows a similar pattern: Microsoft only on Free, Google and Microsoft on Core and Plus. Unlimited full access seats and removing TestGorilla branding are also Plus features.

Where TestGorilla's own documents disagree

We found three places where TestGorilla's public materials contradict each other, and they matter because each one changes the number you would budget.

The first is the credit price of an assessment. The January 2026 help article and the pricing page both say skills tests cost 1 credit per candidate. TestGorilla's billing FAQ, on the same help center, still says evaluating a candidate on Core costs 3 credits, which was the rule before January 2026. At 250 credits, that is the difference between 250 tested candidates a year and 83. The newer article is the one that describes the current model, but ask for the credit schedule in the contract itself.

The second is the structured data on the pricing page. The page source carries a schema.org AggregateOffer that states a low price of $0, a high price of $115 and three offers, and it points to a G2 listing rather than to TestGorilla. Nothing on the visible page costs $115. It is a stale third-party figure embedded in the vendor's own page, and it is the kind of number that ends up quoted in an AI answer.

The third is the Core allocation itself. The pricing page never states how many credits Core includes. The 250 figure appears only in the help center, and at least one third-party buyer guide reports seeing a higher number on the pricing page at an earlier date. Whichever is true for you, get the allocation written into the order form.

Question What one TestGorilla source says What another says Our read
Credits per skills-test candidate 1 (pricing page, January 2026 help article) 3 (help center billing FAQ) 1 is current; confirm in the contract
Highest plan price From $400 a month, $4,800 a year (visible pricing page) $115 (AggregateOffer in the page source, sourced to G2) $115 is stale third-party data
Core credit allocation 250 (help center) Not stated (pricing page) Get the number on the order form
Free trial Free plan presented as a way to try TestGorilla "We don't offer a free trial" (billing FAQ) Free plan yes, trial of paid plans no

Swipe to see the full comparison →

TestGorilla resume scoring versus reading the whole applicant pile

TestGorilla does score resumes, for free, and it is worth using if you already run TestGorilla. Resume scoring rates each resume from 0 to 5 on up to five criteria drawn from your job description, strips names, photos, emails and locations before scoring, shows a short explanation for each score, and lets you override the AI. It costs 0 credits on every plan.

The difference is where the resume comes from. TestGorilla scores a resume the candidate uploads inside a TestGorilla assessment, as a single .pdf or .docx file up to 2 MB. It is a step inside the test flow, so it only sees applicants who clicked through to your assessment. It does not read the applications already sitting in your ATS, and on Core there is no ATS integration to bring them in. All five criteria are weighted equally, and TestGorilla says weighting is not available yet.

Prescreener does the step before that. It reads every inbound resume as it lands, applies the knockout and eligibility criteria you write for the requisition, asks your screening questions, scores role-fit and returns the whole pile ranked with a plain-language reason under each candidate. That is bulk applicant screening across 1,000 applicants a month on Starter at $199, billed monthly. It does not test skills, run AI interviews or verify identity, and if you need those, TestGorilla is a credible choice with published pricing.

The combination is where the credit math gets better. Screen the full pile first, then send only the shortlist to a TestGorilla assessment. If 300 people apply and 40 clear your criteria, testing the 40 costs 40 credits instead of 300. Our TestGorilla alternative comparison covers the rest of the trade-off in more depth.

Question TestGorilla resume scoring Prescreener
What it reads Resumes candidates upload inside a TestGorilla assessment Every inbound resume on the requisition
Criteria Up to 5, equal weight Your knockout, eligibility and role-fit criteria
Explanation per candidate Short reasoning per criterion score Written reason per candidate
Credit or usage cost 0 credits Flat monthly plan, 1,000 to 25,000 applicants a month
ATS connection Plus plan and above ATS export from Growth, integrations on Scale
Skills tests, AI interviews, ID checks Yes No

Swipe to see the full comparison →

What to ask TestGorilla before you sign

Seven questions, each one answerable on a first call and each one something the pricing page does not settle.

First, how many credits does our plan include, written on the order form rather than referenced to the help center. Second, what is the credit cost per candidate for the exact assessment we plan to run, given that TestGorilla's own billing FAQ and its January 2026 article disagree. Third, on Plus, what is the per-credit rate at our tier, so we can compare it with Core's $6.82.

Fourth, if we turn on auto-upgrade, what happens late in the contract year. The help center says an auto-upgrade triggers when the balance falls to 100 credits or fewer, is charged up front with no pro-rating, and the new credits still expire at the original contract end. An upgrade in month eleven can buy credits that expire a few weeks later. Fifth, do we need Plus for our ATS, since integrations are not on Core.

Sixth, do we qualify for a discount. TestGorilla offers startup and NGO discounts, and its billing FAQ extends the non-profit discount to everyone except government and education organizations. Seventh, what happens at renewal to our rate card, since TestGorilla says a customer's price per credit holds until renewal and not beyond.

Then ask the question that decides whether the credit math matters at all: who is going to decide which applicants get an assessment? If the honest answer is nobody, because 400 applications arrived and no one has read them, that is a screening problem, and it is cheaper to solve before the test than inside it. See Prescreener pricing for the plans sized in applicants screened per month.

Good questions

Questions about testgorilla pricing

TestGorilla has a Free plan at $0 with 10 credits a month, a Core plan at $1,704 a year (shown as $142 a month) and a Plus plan from $4,800 a year (shown as from $400 a month), checked September 10, 2026. Enterprise is quoted by sales. Core and Plus are annual contracts paid up front.
250 credits a year, according to TestGorilla's help center. The pricing page itself does not state the number. At 1 credit per skills-test candidate, that covers about 250 tested candidates a year, or roughly 83 if each assessment includes an AI interview.
No. TestGorilla's billing FAQ states that Core and Plus are annual, upfront plans with no monthly payment options. The $142 and $400 monthly figures on the pricing cards are the annual price divided by twelve. Pay-as-you-go was discontinued and is now a legacy plan.
The Free plan is permanently free, with no card required, 10 credits a month, one seat, five essential skills tests, resume scoring and qualifying questions. It is not a trial of the paid plans, and TestGorilla says directly that it does not offer a free trial. Credits on Free do not roll over and cannot be topped up.
Yes. On Core and Plus, all credits, including any bought mid-year, expire at the end of the current contract period and do not roll over. On Free, the 10 monthly credits reset on the 1st of each month. Upgrading mid-year does not move your renewal date.
On Core, one credit works out to $6.82, so a skills-test candidate costs $6.82, a candidate with a video question $13.63, and a candidate with skills tests plus an AI interview $20.45. Resume scoring, qualifying questions and custom questions cost 0 credits.
Yes, but only on the Plus plan and above. ATS integrations and API access are Plus features, so a team that needs TestGorilla inside its applicant tracking system is looking at a floor of $4,800 a year rather than Core at $1,704.
Yes. Resume scoring rates each resume 0 to 5 on up to five equally weighted criteria from your job description, with a short explanation, at 0 credits on every plan. It scores resumes candidates upload inside a TestGorilla assessment, rather than reading the applications already in your ATS.
Yes. TestGorilla lists discounts for startups and NGOs on its pricing page, and its billing FAQ offers a non-profit discount to every non-profit except government and education organizations, applied as a code at checkout after proof of status.
On published rates, yes, because TestGorilla publishes rates and neither HireVue nor Harver does. HireVue's own pricing page showed a starting figure of $35K until early 2024 and now shows none. The products overlap only partly, so compare the cost per candidate you would actually assess.

Explore more

More ways hiring teams screen with Prescreener

Stop reading the inbound pile by hand. Put screening on autopilot.

Set your role and criteria and Prescreener parses every inbound resume, scores role-fit, and ranks the pile for your team. Prescreener ranks and flags candidates, your recruiters make every hiring decision.

See pricing

Consistent criteria · bias-audited to EEOC and LL144 · human-in-the-loop